Skip to Main Content

Real Estate: Home

Suggested resources from the Information Services and Library team

Search tips

Real Estate:
Covering: residential, commercial and real estate investment.

Search tips:
In our databases try searching for the terms real estate and property. Don't forget that in the UK, realtors dealing with residential property are known as estate agents.
Company databases may use SIC codes or NAIC codes and in the field of finance the GICS codes may be used (or an ICB for the UK). More information.

Company research

Real Estate data

Bloomberg
SO.W2.01/02 and B101 only		 RE<GO> will take you to the real estate menu. From there you can access real estate indices, US housing data, UK house prices, News, Property derivatives, Mortgage rates and statistics.
Eikon Use Datastream to get historical data for Real Estate Indices. Further real estate data also available under the Economics category.

Learn about the real estate industry

ProQuest        

To find Fitch reports go to the Proquest database and enter: PUBID(2044556) AND real estate

IBISWorld                

Provides detailed market research reports for UK, US, China and (limited) global.
Look for: Real Estate Asset Management, Real Estate Investment Trusts, Commercial and Residential reports.

Mergent Online

For Analysts' research on quoted companies and their markets go to the Investext tab.

MarketLine

Good for quick profiles on topics such as Real Estate development, REITS and mortgage industry.

Bloomberg 
Finance Zone only

Go to > Function <BI> and selection sectors and sub-sectors.
Or use the function <RES> NB: some content on the RES page may not be included in our subscription. 
Statista Statista covers all aspects of the real estate market. Not just at country level; includes information for some major cities.
S&P Capital IQ Pro News, data and research on real estate companies traded on stock markets around the world.

Web Sources

The Association of Real Estate Funds
UK organisation. Provides quarterly statistics. Some content is for members only, but a number of reports can be accessed.

Emerging Trends in Real Estate® Series - PwC
A series of reports looking at real estate in Europe, Asia Pacific, and globally.

Real Estate reports - Knight Frank 
Large number of reports looking at different aspects of real estate markets globally.

CBRE
Reports and data covering different aspects of real estate, including the UK Real Estate Market Outlook 2023. Some reports may need you to register before you can download a copy.

European Public Real Estate Association (EPRA)
The EPRA's stated aim is to promote, develop and represent the publicly listed real estate sector. Some EPRA data is available to members only, but their monthly market review can be downloaded, as can some reports.

RICs Foundation
A global charitable foundation which seeks sustainably enhance the quality of the built and natural environments for the benefit of all. Includes information such as research papers and best practice guidelines, some of which are available to download for free.

National Association of Realtors
US reports and data on commercial and residential markets.

UK Government
Research, statistics and policy papers related to housing in the UK.

News and keeping up to date

Factiva Our global news database with news wires, newspapers, websites and trade and professional titles. Try limiting your search to titles relevant to the Real Estate / Construction sectors for more targeted results.
FT.com Registration required. NB: It is included when searching Factiva.
Economist Full personalised access to The Economist. Registration required. 
Emerald Recent articles from titles such as Journal of Corporate Real Estate and Journal of Property Investment and Finance.