Information Services and Library: Retail and Fast Moving Consumer Goods: Home

Search tips

Search tips:

In our databases the FMCG sector is more likely to be broken down into narrower sectors such as Food, Drink, OTC pharmaceuticals and Toiletries.

Company databases may use SIC codes or NAIC codes and in the field of finance the GICS codes may be used (or an ICB for the UK). More information.

Researching a company in this sector? Take a look at our guide to company research

Business Monitor Online	Look for retail reports by country as well as reports on food and drinks and consumer electronics sectors. *Good for forecasts.*
IBISWorld	Provides detailed market research reports for UK, US, China and (limited) global. It covers a large number of retail sectors as well as the manufacturing of various consumer goods.
Statista	Data from 225 thousand sources and provides graphs, charts and reports.
Marketline Advantage	Industry and consumer profiles covering sectors such as Consumer Packaged Goods and Retailing. Also has some case studies and deals data as well as it's Market Data Analytics database which gives market value/volume data and in some cases company and / or brand share data for various FMCG products.
Mergent Online	For Analysts' research on quoted companies and their markets go to the Investext tab.
Technavio	Covers a wide range of retail products (most reports are global, but not all), as well as markets such as retail packaging and AI in retail.
Bloomberg Finance Zone only	Go to > Function <BI> and selection sectors and sub-sectors. Or use the function <RES>.

**Web sources**
Food and Drink Federation UK organisation, produce a number of reports that can be downloaded free of charge. Topics covered include exports, skills and innovation in the sector.	Global Powers of Retailing 2022 report from Deloitte. Looks at the 250 largest retailers around the world, as well as market and geographic analysis and the 50 fastest growing retailers. Deloitte also have a 2021 report on the Global Powers of Luxury Goods.
Information Resources Inc (IRI) Some data and reports are available for download. Cover the FMCG and retail sectors.	KPMG Cover the Food, Drink and Consumer Goods industries. A number of reports are available including the latest issue of their semi-annual publication ConsumerCurrents. November 2020 - Includes their latest Covid-19 Pulse Survey report.
Retail Forecast Report 2022 Forecast report for the retail sector from BDO.	McKinsey&Co Cover consumer goods and retail. Regularly updated A number of reports available.
State of Fashion 2022 Report by McKinsey and Business of Fashion	Kantar Worldpanel 2021 Brand Footprint report Looks at the FMCG brands that are chosen most by consumers each year. The report can be downloaded free of charge
Bain Offer reports and insight that are regularly updated on all aspects of the retail market.	Retail Touchpoints Useful website for news and insights in the retail industry. Primary focus is on the US. Register free of charge for access to some additional content.

Factiva	Our global news database with news wires, newspapers, websites and trade and professional titles. Try limiting your search to those titles relevant to the Consumer products and / or Retail sectors.
FT.Com	Prior registration required. Click here to register. (It is included when searching Factiva)
Economist	Full personalised access to the Economist. Must register first using LBS email address
Emerald ManagementXtra	Full or partial access to a number of practitioner journals relating to consumer goods and behaviour or retail.