As part of your programme you may be enrolled on an experiential learning course where you work on a specific business issue with a client. Examples of experiential learning include:
Use of Information Services & Library Resources in Experiential Learning Projects
The School’s licences for databases and e-journals are provided at a heavily discounted academic rate. They are strictly for academic research purposes only and cannot be used for any commercial activity. This restriction includes Experiential Learning projects where you work with an external client on a real-world business challenge. Clients have been informed that they are responsible for supplying the necessary data to complete your project.
Permitted Use:
You may use LBS library resources to:
• Build your understanding of an industry, market, or company.
• Access academic books, articles, and reputable sources to inform your thinking.
• Identify free publicly available information or sources that can inform your project, for example:
- Marketline industry profiles (available in Business Source Premier) have a section at the back listing useful sources
- Statista provides links to websites they have taken information from (see screenshot below)
Prohibited Use
You may not:
• Use library databases to analyse or directly address your client’s specific business question (e.g. identifying competitors, acquisition targets).
• Share, download, or pass on data, reports, articles, or other material from LBS databases to clients.
• Provide any information retrieved from LBS resources directly to your client.
Clients are informed that students cannot supply data or reports obtained through the School’s library resources. Please reach out to your experiential course contact (see Need help? below) if your client asks you to access or provide data covered by prohibited use.
Further examples of how you can/ cannot use library resources:
| What's acceptable | What's not acceptable |
|---|---|
| Once you have received your client allocation, you can use LBS resources to research the company and their sector for background information and context before you start working directly with the client. | To pass any reports or data you have downloaded from LBS library databases to the client. |
|
During the project you will find some of our databases can provide useful pointers to free sources of quality information and data. For example Statista will provide links through to websites that they have scraped data from (see highlighted area in below screenshot), and Marketline industry profiles (see Business Source Premier) have a section at the back listing useful sources.
|
To use the library databases to research the specific business question / issue you have been asked to address by your client. for example to identify potential competitors, deal targets etc.. |
| To read articles or books from our collections to help inform your understanding or decision making. | To pass on copies or printouts of those articles or e-book chapters to the client. |
Need further help or advice?
For questions regarding the use of Information Services & Library resources, please email library@london.edu
For all other questions regarding experiential courses, please email:
