Information Services and Library: Social Media: Home

Search tips

Search tips:

In our databases content on social media may be classified under media, communications or technology sectors

Company databases may use SIC codes or NAIC codes and in the field of finance the GICS codes may be used (or an ICB for the UK). More information.

Researching a company in this sector? Take a look at our guide to company research

Forrester	Our primary source for research on all topics related to technology including Social Media. There are numerous reports on this topic. NB: Registration required.
IBISWorld	Provides detailed market research reports for UK, US, China and (limited) global. Many of the reports on different sectors (especially PR, Marketing and Comms) mention social media and there is a report on Social Networking in China.
Statista	Good statistical and report coverage for social media usage and social media advertising.
Mergent Online	For Analysts' research on quoted companies and their markets go to the Investext tab.
Technavio	Includes reports covering a number of different aspects of social media markets and the markets of related technologies.
ProQuest One Business	A number of relevant reports by publishers such as Plunkett, First Research and Just-Food. Try searching for "social media" then limit your results to show only Source Type = reports, Document type = industry reports and set your date range for the last 2 years.
MarketLine Advantage	Industry and company profiles, also has some case-study style reports e.g. one on Facebook's acquisition of Whatsapp.
Bloomberg Finance Zone only	Go to > Function <BI> and select Communications> Internet. It includes cost analysis and market share information for major internet and social media firms (including some based in China) Or use the function <RES>.

**Web sources**
Pew Research Produces regular reports on social media and various related topics e.g mobile devices, gaming, privacy etc.	Social Media Examiner A number of reports and articles (some for free) looking at current use of social media by marketers and their future plans.
Online Nation An annual from Ofcom (UK communications industries regulator) looking at use of digital media, including the use of social media.	WeAreSocial 2023 Global digital report looks at use of digital media, in particular social media. Some regional reports also available.

ScienceDirect	Covers business and sci/tech. Useful for academic research on the technology behind and use of social media.
Factiva	Our global news database with news wires, newspapers, websites and trade and professional titles. Try limiting your search to sources relevant to this industry or by using Social Media in the subject index.
FT.com	Registration required. NB: It is included when searching Factiva.
Economist	Full personalised access to The Economist. Registration required.
Emerald ManagementXtra	Articles on social media from practitioner journals in a wide range of fields, including media and marketing.