Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Market research overview

Suggested resources from Information the Services and Library Team

International market reports

Below are the key sources of market research in our subscribed e-resources.

IBISWorld
Industry-based market research analysis providing strategic insights on over: 700 US, 400 UK, 200 China, 75 global markets.
It provides 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, cost structure, major industry participants and more. 

MarketLine Advantage 
MarketLine Advantage provides global research data on companies, industries and countries, providing: industry reports; industry profiles; case studies and deals. Reports may be regional or country specific.

Statista
A statistics portal providing statistics, reports (dossiers) and infographics.  It incorporates free and subscription data sources and covers 600 industry sectors and is particularly strong on social media and consumer products.

Technavio Insights (New November 2020)
Technavio Insights from Infiniti Research publishes over 17,000 reports that review and identify market opportunities for over 800 sectors, industries, new and emerging technologies in over 50 countries. Focus industries include:

Communication Services Health Care
Consumer Discretionary Industrials
Consumer Staples Information Technology
Energy Materials
Financial Utilities

Frost & Sullivan  
November 2020: Our subscription to Frost & Sullivan has now ended.

Fitch Reports
In the Proquest database there are a series of quarterly industry and country reports by Fitch:

Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports.  PUBID(2044556)
These provide global or regional reports and individual country reports on major industries. For example: Global renewables,  Europe power, France renewables (with a 10 year forecast.)

Fitch Solutions Industry Insight Reports.  PUBID(2044554)
These take a broader look at an industry in a region: Americas Power and Renewables Insight, European Agribusiness Insight, Middle East and Africa Mining Insight, and the wider; Drug Delivery Insight

Fitch Solutions Risk Reports.  PUBID(2044555)
These provide general country risk reports and reports on more specific areas: Operational Risk, Trade and Investment, Crime and security.

You can find them in the Proquest database by entering the publication ID and adding a keyword:
    PUBID(2044556) AND renewables
    PUBID(2044555) AND Brazil

Or use our Summon search and enter your key search terms with the word Fitch. The use the side bar to limit by date and by type=report.
For example:  mining AND brazil AND fitch

Thomson One -  for city analysts' research.
Also known as Investext. You must use Internet Explorer
Go to Thomson One > Screening > Research
It covers quoted companies and their industries. Default time period is 90 days -  remember to alter this. For industry reports tick the industry check box and use sort by page numbers to locate bigger reports.
TIP - There is an option to choose an “initiating coverage report”. These often provide good coverage of an industry.

Business Source Premier   
As well as journal and trade press articles it includes limited market research and country reports from Datamonitor (called Marketwatch).

ProQuest  Business Premium Collection
Broad coverage of industries, markets, management topics, finance and country data. 
Tip: When searching by keyword limit by date and full text and then on the side panel limit by document type: Report, Industry report, Market Research
Tip: Other way to locate market studies is to use the “Browse option” on the home page and open up the market research drop down.
Tip: If you need historical market research then the Snapshot reports may help (see note above about how to browse for these). Snapshot reports stopped being updated in 2008 and the earliest reports are from 2001. Each report has 5 years of historical data.


Forrester 
Research on technology and business in the broadest sense. Topics covered include: architecture and technology strategy, infrastructure, business process management, digital and mobile business, cloud computing, business intelligence, customer experience and much more. Different types of reports for different audiences, e.g Playbooks are a good starting point on a topic for Senior Executives

NB Pre-Registration is required - find the registration link in the A-Z list of databases in portal - or here.

First Research

These reports can be found in the ProQuestABI Inform
They are US  specific reports although a section in each report gives an insight into the International market. They cover a wide range of  industries and looks at market drivers, critical issues,challenges and opportunities. In Proquest go to Browse>Industry and Market Research>First Research.  NB sort by date.

Or you can enter your keyword term plus the publication ID> For example:
 
  solar AND PUBID(51791)