Skip to Main Content

News: Home

Suggested resources from Information the Services and Library Team

Search tips

A-Z list of e-journals and newspapers 
To search for a specific newspaper or trade/industry publication.

Fact-checking
Two websites that aim to help the fight against false news are:
US: snopes.com | UK: fullfact.org
See also: Wikipedia's overview of fact checking organisations

News Sentiment
Try <TREN> in Bloomberg to see which companies have had the most positive or negative news.
Go to Bloomberg's news menu to see the range of other news options such as Social Media Velocity.

PressReader

PressReader is a global newspaper and magazine app with over 7000 newspapers and magazines in more than 60 languages.
We do not have a subscription, but anyone with a UK address can get free access via Westminster public library

News sources

Global news

Factiva - has over 30,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 28 languages. It covers, news wires, top blogs, newspapers (both print and online) plus trade and professional press and some TV and radio transcripts. Date coverage varies by title. It includes The AtlanticThe Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times with a one month embargo. 

Project Syndicate - (Ignore prompts to Subscribe or Log In). We get full free-to-read access but excludes personalisation. PS is an international media not for profit that syndicates commentary and analysis on key global topics from economics and the environment to human rights. 

US news

US Major Dailies -  full-text of stories from the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
The latest issue content is available by 8am EST each day with archives from 1980-present.

Business and finance news

Financial Times - (registration required) | get the app
Also available via Factiva and ProQuest with a one month embargo.

The Economist - (registration required) | get the app
Also available via ProQuest (1992-present).

Bloomberg News - (Finance Suite only) News functions include: <N> News, <TOP> Top news, <NSE> News search,<SALT> Suggested real-time and daily news alerts. Use <TREN> for the news sentiment tool.

S&P Capital IQ Pro Previously known as Market Intelligence or SNL Financial
Industry-specific financial market data on public and private companies. We have a direct subscription to their banking and finance coverage or you can find their news services in Factiva and ProQuest. They have also recently added some Dow Jones news content to their platform which includes some articles from The Wall Street Journal.

Trade and professional titles

ProQuest Business Premium Collection - Good for its range of magazines, trade press and news sources. It includes The Economist (1992-present) and The Financial Times (1996-present, one month embargo).

Business Source Premier - Better for trade press and magazine articles, fewer newspapers. Notable titles include:
Fast Company, Fortune, Forbes, Campaign, American Banker; and also academic titles such as: Harvard Business Review and MIT Sloan Management Review.

Web sources
Reuters News Global business news
Google News Computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide
TV and satellite news Many exist - you could try: CNN News | BBC News | Bloomberg News
Apps Investopaedia lists its top apps for business news