In the Proquest database there are a series of quarterly industry and country reports by Fitch:
Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports. PUBID(2044556)
These provide global or regional reports and individual country reports on major industries. For example: Global renewables, Europe power, France renewables (with a 10 year forecast.)
Fitch Solutions Industry Insight Reports. PUBID(2044554)
These take a broader look at an industry in a region: Americas Power and Renewables Insight, European Agribusiness Insight, Middle East and Africa Mining Insight, and the wider; Drug Delivery Insight
Fitch Solutions Risk Reports. PUBID(2044555)
These provide general country risk reports and reports on more specific areas: Operational Risk, Trade and Investment, Crime and security.
You can find them in the Proquest database by entering the publication ID and adding a keyword:
PUBID(2044556) AND renewables
PUBID(2044555) AND Brazil
How to research an industry using:
Whilst the only Market Research database we are currently licensed to offer to Alumni is Marketline, a number of the databases you have access to do contain this type of information.
Please note: Marketline is available to Alumni on campus only.
If using the web to find industry/market research some of the following tips may be useful to you:
1 Think about your search terms. Could the product or sector be called something else, particularly in different countries? E.g. Strollers (USA) are Buggies or Pushchairs(UK).
2 Using Google to find reports? Try adding .pdf as an additional search term as reports and other longer documents will often be uploaded to websites as PDF attachments.
3 Who will be writing about the sector you are interested in? Industry Associations are often a good source of information and data, although some content may only be available to their members.
4 The large accountancy and consultancy firms often make reports on various sectors freely available on their websites (try some of the links below)
Bain Select Publications>Industry Insights
Deloitte Select Industry and then choose Insights.
Ernst & Young Search for your industry and then drill down to relevant publications
McKinsey From the Insights page, select your industry.
PriceWaterhouseCoopers Select your industry and browse the publications.
Anyone with proof of a UK address can apply for a Readers Ticket which will get them access to the reading rooms. The British Library's Business and IP Centre offers a range of electronic resources that will are useful in researching an industry.They may also have print copies of Market Research reports that they can consult.
A list of the available market research databases can be viewed here. Please note in order to make use of them you must visit in person. Also strict downloading or printing limitations may be in place. These limitations will have been imposed by the database vendors as part of the terms of the licence.
There are a number of smaller Business & IP Centres in other major UK cities. The services on offer may vary vary from centre to centre, but most seem to offer access to at least some databases. Further information can be found here.
Finally, see our page about using other libraries. As we find examples of public libraries offering a good range of business databases we will list them there.
There are a number of websites that sell on research from a variety of publishers. They can be useful as a means of finding out what has been written on a market. Even if you don't wish to purchase a report (they can range from a few hundred to several thousand dollars in price) you may find that some headline figures are made available. Below we list two of the biggest sites.