Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using our e-resources: Staff

How to get the most out of our online subscriptions

Library basics

Library e-resources – the basics 

1.  What online resources can I access and do I need to register?
Staff have the same access as students and faculty.  Access them via our A- list of resources. A few specialist resources require individual registration, the list can be found here. Always use your LBS email address. You should register for the FT.COM as you may have to put links in canvas.
You may find you cannot access Factiva our news database. This is because it cannot be used for commercial activities such as fundraising. If you do need access and are not using it commercially email us and will will enable your account. This will also apply to Fame (UK company data) and Amadeus (European company data).

2.  I want to see which books are available – and if they are e-books?
Go to the Library catalogue and search for a book by keyword, author, title or ISBN. If there is an e-book version there will be a small URL link. We also have over 600 Harvard Business Publishing e-books. We also have special collections on: Travel,  Languages, Careers,  Wellbeing,  Business Fiction and  Academic study skills. If you need an e-book for a course let us know in good time.

3.  How do I see if we have a specific journal article?
Use the SUMMON search. If you go to the advanced search option you can enter words in the title of the article or search for a specific author. If you click on the quotation marks next to an item it will output a proper citation in the style of your choice.

4.  Can I see which e-journals we subscribe to?
If you want to locate a specific journal or magazine, see if we have it and for which dates and in which database, use the A-Z list of E-Journals. 

5.  Can we access the full text of Harvard Business Review?
As is is so popular we list Harvard Business Review in our A-Z list of databases. We have the full text back to the first issue (1922) in the database Business Source Premier. There is also the newer Harvard Business Review Digital Articles (shorter web articles.) You can browse by date or search within the publication - see the link on the top right. Do not link to Harvard articles in Canvas - ask the Library for help.

6.  What about case studies?
Cases are a special type of teaching material purchased for each course, they are not Library materials. (There is a widget in Canvas for buying Harvard cases and articles.)  However, students may buy individual cases from the CaseCentre.org. Do not confuse Harvard Cases with Harvard Business Review articles. If you need an LBS case email: cases@london.edu

7.  Does the Library offer citation, referencing and plagiarism help?
We offer guidance to students -  go to the the guide to Citing and Referencing.
If you have to obtain citation data for an individual see our guide. to Citation Analysis
To get help understanding our plagiarism detection tool go to the Turnitin page.

8.  What copyright issues do I need to be aware of if I am distributing materials to others?
The best way top provide readings to the academic community or for staff training is by linking to our subscribed resources. Otherwise we have the CLA licence to distribute PDFs. For guidance see our copyright guide or contact the Library for for help and copyright training. 

9.    You don’t have an article (or book) that I need - can you get it? 
We can obtain books, book chapters and articles not held. There is a Request Materials option in the Library catalogue or links to make your request here. If you need material for a Canvas course, you MUST tell us when you order. The Library can assist with copyright queries.

10.    Where can I find LBS's faculty research?

a.    LBS website -  to see faculty profiles and their publications. (May link out to LBS Research Online.)
b.    LBS research online - the London Business School research repository.
c.    Think at London Business School - Magazine type articles on thought leadership.
d.    London Business School Publishing - Case studies by LBS (for sale.)
e.    Profile page on Google scholar listing an academic's  research outputs. 


 

Doing research

Ask us - we can help!

The Library Information Specialists can help with your research.

We can advise on the best database to use and how to construct a search.

Please note that Alumni and Executive Education participants have access to a very limited range of resource. Ask us for guidance.

Library@london.edu

 

Did you know?

Our collections are not just limited to business, and related topics. We have a wide range of e-resources - mostly  journals  including:

Vogue Archive 
Archive of American Vogue from 1892 to current year (only latest issue is unavailable), in full colour.

Science Magazine
One of the world's top academic scientific journals.


                              Copyright is important.

Free on the web does not mean free to use. If in doubt email: Library@london.edu