Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Entrepreneuring

Guide for aspiring entrepreneurs from the Information Services and Library Team

Social entrepreneurship

Library Databases 
For news on social entrepreneurial activity use the Factiva database in Portal; for more in depth academic articles try: Business Source Complete, Emerald, Science Direct whose coverage includes the Journal of Business Venturing and Social Enterprise Journal.


Web resources about Social Entrepreneuring
Philanthropy UK is the leading resource for free and impartial advice to aspiring philanthropists who want to give effectively. It provides an overview of social entrepreneuring and social enterprises. 

SEL – Social Enterprise LondonSocial Enterprise London is a world-leading provider of training, research, networking and consultancy for social enterprise. http://www.socialenterpriselive.com/


Social Enterprise UK The voice for social enterprise in Britain, Social Enterprise UK works in partnership with government departments and mainstream businesses. It provides publications, events and networking opportunities.

Social Enterprise Live This site aims to share news, ideas and opinions while at the same time supporting social business. 

Social Venture Network
Social Venture Network connects, supports and inspires business leaders and social entrepreneurs in expanding practices that build a just and sustainable economy.

SkollWorldForum
offers news, insight, and opportunities to accelerate entrepreneurial approaches and innovative solutions to the world’s most pressing social issues.

Social Enterprise Funding

Library > A-Z list of databases > Thomson One
Go into the screening function>private equity to look for information on social funds.

Funding Central is a free website for charities, voluntary organisations and social enterprises - providing access to thousands of funding and finance opportunities. 

UnLtd UnLtd is a charity that provides financial and practical support to social entrepreneurs in addition to undertaking social enterprise themed research. 

Apax Foundation Funding decisions are made by the Apax Foundation's Board of Trustees. The Apax Foundation has a balanced portfolio with a mix of start-ups and large, established organisations.