Home - overview of platforms - Financial markets data - Information Services and Library at London Business School

Platform overview

This guide is still being developed. Any suggestions please get in touch: library@london.edu
See our Company research guide for a simpler overview.
Bloomberg Bloomberg is arguably the industry leader for financial markets data; covering equities, fixed income, indices, currencies, commodities derivatives, interest rates, economics, news and ESG. Some data can be downloaded when you are in a terminal session otherwise use the Excel Add-in. Closest alternative: Eikon	Bloomberg is only available on campus in the Finance Suite. There are daily and monthly Excel download limits. So a data download can sometimes fail. Further information is here.
S&P Capital IQ Pro CIQ provides company accounts data, stock price, bond data, transactions, and more. For US listed companies the Compustat option provides a longer time series. (i.e Ford Inc. goes back to 1950 in Compustat). To download the Excel add-in go to Tools.. Some CIQ data is also on WRDS.	CIQ uses SSO (single sign on.) There is no Mac version of the CIQ Excel add-in but the add-in is installed on PCs in the Finance Suite. Note - we do not subscribe to analysts' research in CIQ. See our analysts' research resources here.
Datastream Refinitv’s Datastream runs as an Excel Add-in on the Eikon platform. Datastream supplies long time series, with markets data going back to the 1960s and company accounts back to the 1980s. It offers global financial markets data, company fundamentals, equities, stock market indices, currencies, interest rates, fixed income securities, derivatives plus key economic indicators. It also includes an ESG time series; Refinitv ESG, formerly known as Asset 4.	Access is on 2 PCs in the Finance Suite SO.W2.O2. Or, for remote access book a timed slot to use a remote login. Remote access is for Windows users only. Students see this page for details. Faculty and PhDs see this page for details.
Eikon Eikon (formerly Thomson Reuters, now Refintiv) offers company financials, and ESG data, news, deals, financial markets and economic data. It has its own Excel add-in plus the Datastream add-in.	It is on 2 PCs in the Finance suite SOC.W0.02. Current students, staff and faculty may use Eikon remotely by booking an ID for an hour at a time. Students see this page for details. Faculty and PhDs see this page for details.
Factset Financial data on 70,000+ public and private companies worldwide with around 2,000 historical financial metrics. Developed markets coverage from the 1980s and emerging markets from the 1990s.	Prior registration required see the link in our A-Z list here. Students have access to the MyFactset.com site. We do not have access to the Excel add-in.
GFD (Finaeon) - for historic time series Global Financial Data (GFD) is a collection of current and historical financial and economic data for over 200 countries, many series go back centuries. We only subscribe to data from the GFDatabase (i.e. economics and financial markets, not real estate.)	You will need to create your own account, using your @london.edu email address. Click "Register" below the Login button. We only subscribe to data from the GFDatabase (i.e. economics and financial markets, not real estate.)
Mergent Online Covers over 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Limited markets data but offers the Investext module for Analysts' research. Mergent Bond Viewer is a separate platform covering US Bonds.
WRDS The Wharton School hosts a wide range of reliable datasets on the WRDS platform to facilitate large quantity downloads, data linking and analysis. We do not subscribe to all products. Additionally, WRDS provides tools that allow researchers to easily link tables between the most frequently used databases on the WRDS platform: Read our guide to the complete list of datasets and tools we have access to on the WRDS platform.	Prior registration is required - view this link in the A-Z of databases. WRDS is popular with researchers and will not usually be mandated for our masters courses.